​MarshaMarie.com

Home of TheBangles Series, and TheIzz Wow Radio!

Tell somebody

....anybody!




Bangles: My True Story of Escape, Adventure and Forgiveness by Marsha Marie
 by Michael Knox-Smith (MikesFilmTalk.com)

August 11, 2016

Bangles: My True Story of Escape, Adventure and Forgiveness by Marsha Marie is a personal tale of living outside the “safety” of America and of adopting another country as home.  A sort of variation  of   “An Englishman Abroad” where the heroine of the book takes us though her trails and tribulations via series of books all starting with “Bangles.”

The tale begins with Marsha in an abusive relationship with her first husband. One that ends with her losing custody of her children.  She meets a man from Los Angeles who is Pakistani and they fall in love.  Marsha then decides to ignore the law, which has not been her friend in relation to her children and flee the country of her birth.

She takes her children to Pakistan to live with her new husband’s family in a tiny village that, in 1992, still uses a version of horse and cart to travel long distances.  There are other cultural differences and Marie’s recounting is tinged with humor and that inevitable fish out of water feeling.

Anyone who has lived abroad will recognize the feeling Marsha describes while adjusting to her new home.  It is an amazing story of perseverance and starting over, repeatedly, that keeps the reader turning page after page to move on to the next event in her story.

Each vignette explains something about the writer and, initially, the family she lives with.  It also paints a broad picture of a country and culture that,  in itself, is as different as night and day.

Marsha Marie is now firmly ensconced in the US. She has a website –marshamarie.com and  is working on another two volumes in the “Bangles” series. It is the time of year for reading; summer hols and relaxing days in the garden and all that entails.

Take a moment to read this entertaining, sad at times, and remarkable look at one woman’s journey of self discovery in a country half a world away.

Bangles: My True Story of Escape, Adventure and Forgiveness by Marsha “Yasmine”  Marie is a brilliant start to a series about learning; about one’s self and  about healing.  The book is available on Amazon via Kindle and the second in the series is due out January 2017. _________________________________________________________________________________________


Bangles: My True Story of Escape, Adventure and Forgiveness

5.0 out of 5 stars Would be overwhelming and frightening but for Marsha it was just another wonderful discovery. Her positive view of each and ever
By Amazon Customer on July 13, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
A story of self-discovery and honesty - I could not put this book down. Marsha takes us on a journey that, to most of us, would be overwhelming and frightening but for Marsha it was just another wonderful discovery. Her positive view of each and every challenge and her sense of humor were the tools she used to cope with her challenges and her self-sacrificing love for her children is evident throughout the book. I found myself drowning in sadness one minute and laughing out loud the next! Her honest appraisal of her mistakes and the hard decisions she had to make to right her "wrongs" were so refreshing in comparison to the world we live in where no one takes responsibility for their actions. And Kudos to Zain's family who took her and her children in. Marsha (Yasmine) - truly an amazing woman!
---Annie Smith ----_________________________________________________________________________________________


Bangles: My True Story of Escape, Adventure and Forgiveness

5.0 out of 5 stars A Story of Courage, Inner Strength and Adversity!
By Lorraine Price on July 26, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A story about survival in another country and culture, learning to adapt, and staying positive in the face of adversity. Marsha leaves the United States to escape the abusive behavior of her ex-husband and
finds that protecting her children is easier with extended family helping her.

This is one of those books that you can't stop reading until the very end. You get a sense of her thoughts and fears as she takes this journey and faces unimaginable tasks that would cause any normal person to
question or run from.

This stimulating and gripping novel will hold you in suspense until the final end.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Bangles: My True Story of Escape, Adventure and Forgiveness

5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must- read!
By Amazon Customeron July 11, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
We loved this book so much mainly because of the incredible journey the protagonist was forced to make. This was her road to maturity and self- discovery. She has learned a lot through her experiences and this has made her so much more patient, responsive and moderate! This book is a MUST- READ for everyone and is a book you won't be able to put down until you finish reading it.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Bangles: My True Story of Escape, Adventure and Forgiveness

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, amazing story and amazing lady
By Tom L Todd on July 12, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
My normal reading is restricted to tales of the old west and the civil war. Then Marsha sent me an early copy of this book and I was mesmerized. This is a story of Marsha's life, and what a life she has led. From wining and dining with Hollywood elites to living in almost poverty in the Middle East she has experienced a great deal of life. But what is really fascinating is how she fled the country with her children to escape an abusive husband, even knowing she would end up on the FBI's wanted list for fugitives. She spent many years in the MidEast fearing every stranger was coming to get her. The courage she showed by returning to the US after almost 20 years of exile is unbelievable. I can promise you that you will enjoy this read and respect the author.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Bangles: My True Story of Escape, Adventure and Forgiveness

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have ever read.
By Client d'Amazon on July 15, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
It is not very often that you start reading a book and you can not go to sleep until you have finished it. This is exactly what happened while reading this book.
The book is incredibly engaging and keep the reader interested till the last page. A reason for this could be because its a true story and because Marsha is an incredibly talented writer who has expressed her experiences in the best possible way.
I have already recommended the book to most of my friends.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Bangles: My True Story of Escape, Adventure and Forgiveness

5.0 out of 5 stars I loved reading your book
By Amazon Customer on July 19, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I loved reading your book! It has brought back so many memories of my stay overseas. Your heartbreak and then the strength you showed to get out is amazing and will inspire other women in similar situations.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Bangles: My True Story of Escape, Adventure and Forgiveness

5.0 out of 5 stars This woman shows how there is no end to love and protect her children
By Jill Khollman on July 11, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
This woman shows how there is no end to love and protect her children. Strength, courage, heart! Yes, she has it all. Love Love Love this book!!